New Governors Appointed in 17 Provinces

Based on the move, 17 governors, 15 deputy governors and 10 police chiefs have been appointed in different provinces.

The Islamic Emirate in its latest move has appointed 43 new people to government positions as governors, deputy governors and police chiefs in various provinces.

The new appointments included 17 new provincial governors, 15 deputy provincial governors, 10 provincial police chiefs, and one security chief for Herat’s five districts of Shindand area.

Zabihullah Mujahid, spokesman of the Islamic Emirate, said the new appointments have been made based a decree from Mullah Hebatullah Akhundzada, the leader of the Taliban.

Based on a statement released on Monday evening, the new governors have been appointed for the provinces of Badakhshan, Paktia, Kabul, Kunduz, Baghlan, Logar, Paktika, Bamyan, Uruzgan, Farah, Sare Pul, Jawzjan, Faryab, Maidan Wardak, Zabul, Nimroz and Ghazni.

The deputy provincial governors have been appointed for the provinces of Kabul, Baghlan, Kunduz, Logar, Laghman, Balkh, Farah, Sare Pul, Jawzjan, Maidan Wardak, Zabul, Samangan, Ghazni, Kunar and Daikundi.

The provincial police chiefs have been appointed for the provinces of Kabul, Kunduz, Baghlan, Logar, Balkh, Takhar, Farah, Faryab, Ghor, Kunar, and one person has been appointed as a security chief for the five districts of Herat’s Shindand area.

Meanwhile, the Defense Ministry issued a decree changing the names of eight military corps in the country.

The changed names are as follows:

• Kabul Military Corps to the Central Corps

• 201 Silab Military Corps in Laghman to Khalid bin Walid Military Corps

• 203 Thunder Military Corps in Paktia to Masoori Military Corps

• 215 Atal Military Corps in Kandahar to Al-Badr Military Corps

• 207 Zafar Military Corps in Herat to Al-Farooq Military Corps

• 209 Shaheen Military Corps to Al-Fath Military Corps

• 215 Maiwand Military Corps to Azm Military Corps

• 217 Pamir Military Corps to Omari Military Corps

The Defense Ministry said the new names “carry the message of peace.”

New Governors Appointed in 17 Provinces